Guess Who’s Going To Hell? (Or Coming to Dinner…)

IMG_0667

Recently, I opened up a couple of articles of a one Matt Walsh. Don’t pity me, I knew what I was doing. I knew that I was going to find boycotting college and find misogynistic labeling as well as defamation of people claimed by depression every year (it’s a disease, and he literally says that joy is the only cure, not medicine and treatment, but fucking joy.)

As you’ve probably noticed, the rest of the world sees Christians very differently than they see themselves.

But it got me thinking about something that I’ve seen within Christian circles, and it’s about hell. As you’ve probably noticed, the rest of the world sees Christians very differently than they see themselves. And one of the words most used in association with Christians is…judgmental. And indeed in many cases, Christians seem to be at apparent ease with defining what is and is not right in the world.

Bruce Jenner is sick, but Robin Williams wasn’t sick, that was his choice; abortion is evil, and that’s why we should defund Planned Parenthood, homosexuality is an abomination, premarital sex and masturbation is wrong (and in my former faith, drinking, eating bacon, shopping on Saturday, and reading Harry Potter could also be considered wrong.)

It should be stated here that I’m not being obtuse or hyperbolic, and I’m not being original. These are not my own thoughts, but born out of the conscious minds of thousands of believers and affirmed daily.

And yet, in all of this, there is one line that most Christians will not cross. I have rarely, if ever, heard a Christian say that someone specific was going to hell.

Indeed in many cases, Christians seem to be at apparent ease with defining what is and is not right in the world.

They will preach all day about how the sinful proclivities of the nation are going to bring the wrath of God upon us, or how being gay is a disease and a byproduct of a fallen world, but when asked the question directly, “Is Robin Williams going to hell because he committed suicide?” or “Is my friend going to hell because they’re gay?”, they will blanch.

Why?

The God Complex

There’s a certain thrill to being right. It happens to everyone. When you finally know something the kid in the front of the class doesn’t know, or when a risky business venture pays off. There is a satisfaction in knowing that you were the one that believed the thing that was right all along, and all these paeans just had to catch up.

There is also a certain thrill to being morally right. Because of what we know about cognitive dissonance and how hard it can be for the brain to encompass contradictory modes of thought, it is almost always necessary for people to find justifications for why they live the way that they do, and it is almost always necessary for them to feel that justification reverberated back to them in a real, meaningful way. Positive reinforcement from a social group can do that.

They will preach all day about how…being gay is a disease and a byproduct of a fallen world, but when asked the question directly…”Is my friend going to hell because they’re gay?”, they will blanch.

So, coming from someone who doesn’t believe that God exists, this is my hypothesis (I was gonna say “theory”, but…)

Obviously, Christians are god. They play God, they say what he’d like, what he’d disapprove of, what the punishments are, what an abomination is, etc. In this manner, they are allowed to escape culpability for their actions and judgments, being simply deputies of the divine. But when the responsibility of God is handed to them, they still have that higher being to pass the buck to, and say that they can’t know for sure who’s going to hell and heaven because that’s ultimately God’s judgement.

Either you’re god or you’re not. But you cannot parade around in your mother’s heels to feel tall, and then get mad that someone asks that you pay the mortgage.

Feel free to comment, like, share, and follow below! If you appreciated this blog, become my Patron!

Twitter: @Ame0baRepublic 

6 thoughts on “Guess Who’s Going To Hell? (Or Coming to Dinner…)”

  1. I don’t know. As a Christian I felt everyone around me was very sure about who would go to hell and who wouldn’t, but there was an optimism that we could save them- so really, they were only hell bound. Keeping friends from hell was a real stress for me in my youth. “If I don’t invite them to the church roller skating party they won’t learn about Jesus, they will burn forever, and god will ask me about this when I die….” That sort of thing. If you don’t accept Jesus as your savior you are going to hell. End of story. It just didn’t fit into polite conversation all that much 🙂

    Like

    1. I can definitely relate to that experience. That whole rhetoric of “This could be the only meaningful encounter that they have with Jesus”. And that burden is always present on a Christian’s shoulders.

      In my experience, people were always sure about what kinds of people were going, but like I said, no one specific. So they could say blanket, “Gays are going to hell”, but they couldn’t bring themselves to tell you that your friend was going to hell, even though that’s how logic works. They always seemed unsure of their present salvation status, as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Many Christians are not humble. I can’t say for sure what percentage of Christianity is conceited because the only Christians who really make a public appearance are the conceited ones. Conceited (dogmatic) Christians are the ones who believe with absolute certainty that something is wrong. In a sense, they are playing god. The problem is that they don’t realize they are playing god until the ultimate godlike judgment of eternal damnation is placed upon them. It is only at that juncture that these Christians recognize that it would be conceited to speak with absolute certainty, so they hide in the virtue of humility. The problem is that this doesn’t get rid of their conceit, but just temporarily masks it.

    I have met some truly humble Christians who do not speak with any level of absolute certainty, so they don’t have this type of hypocrisy you’ve written about. There are also some dogmatic Christians who will fervently (and almost joyfully) damn others to hell, so they also lack the hypocrisy you’ve spoken about. It is only the Christians who strive to be both humble and dogmatic who have this form of hypocrisy. I don’t think either variant of Christianity (humble or conceited) is any more “true,” but damn me if those conceited ones aren’t more annoying.

    Like

    1. Lol definitely. It’s very annoying to pretend to understand so well the mind of God and what he wants and who he approves of, but then toss that shit like a hot cookie when it gets real.

      I didn’t write this part in this blog, but that’s kinda why I respect the Westboro Baptist Church. Please understand me. I do not respect them in almost any senses of the word respect, BUT they do have an integrity in that they’ve set the rules of their game and they play by it.

      Honestly, I feel like that middle ground of Christians are those filled with progressive and regressive values. So they feel a tension between not being judgmental and stoning people, between Sodom and Gomorrah and inviting your gay friend to potluck. I do feel for them, but I still think they’re very dishonest, albeit mostly unintentionally.

      Like

Leave a Reply

