Tags

, , , , , ,

I can remember my school holding a forum on LGBT students right around last year and I wrote a pretty long piece about reactions to it. (Forgive the religious rhetoric, I wasn’t quite “out” at the moment of writing that piece). I remember helping produce the LGBT edition of the school newspaper (which I lovingly call The Rainbow Edition, for Dakota.) And I remember talking to a church leader about a problematic textbook demonizing “homosexuals”.

None of those were monumental, but incremental. Simply small things so that in my own way, I could contribute something to the life of another. It reminds me of the closing words of The Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant: “And such was the sound that the chorus made together that to have been a part of it at all was enough for me.”

I like to think we all won a little bit today.

Feel free to like, comment, share, and follow below! If you appreciated this blog, please consider becoming my patron!

Twitter: @Ame0baRepublic

